Life this week

Hello from the center of the ocean… I mean Portland. Its quite the blustery day here. Willow and I have set up camp on the couch today, armed with markers, hot cocoa, hand sewing and our favorites on netflix ( Curious George & Kipper for her, Peep Show and The Tudors for momma).  Its hard to believe that Thanksgiving is just a day away, I should be working on pie crusts and straightening the house. But the down comforter is warm and my snuggly little monkey is resting quietly in my lap (that NEVER happens). So, I thought I’d pop in to show you what I’ve been working on.

First some exciting news: I am so very thrilled and honored to have been selected to be on the 2012 Portland Modern Quilt Guild board of directors as Programs Coordinator. I’d have never imagined when I attended my first meeting last year how much it would come to mean to me. Its the most wonderful and inspiring community of artists and fiber enthusiasts. I’m so excited to be working with some truly fabulous people ( If you don’t believe me, just look for yourself!! HeatherPétra,  Nancy, and Susan). I’d also like to give huge thanks to our 2011 officers for Christina, Megan, Michelle and Katie. You guys rocked it! Thanks for your all your hard work!

I started a very belated wedding gift for my dear sweet Katie ( & her husbeast Charlie or Uncle Chuckles as we so affectionately call him.) I’m using Anna Maria’s Innocent Crush line and Kona Coal as my neutral. I was really indecisive when it came to choosing a pattern, so I had Katie pick one! She selected “Little Leaves” a pattern from Elizabeth Hartmen’s fabulous book “The Practical Guide to Patchwork

The blocks came together pretty quickly, now I just have to zigzag all these. I’m making a largish couch quilt, so this might take some time, but I’m loving how its coming together.

Our days have been a bit intense lately. Ben was promoted to Associate Store Manager out in Tanasbourne. Not surprisingly, Whole Foods is usually pretty insane-o around the holidays.  Added commute+ holiday rushes= not too much free time lately. Add in the Willow’s eight ( I thought it was 4, but Doc said 8 at her checkup) teeth coming in at once means my hands haven’t been free much. However, I’ve been making these in every spare moment I can find during the day. Pretty happy huh?

I really love english paper piecing. Quick, easy, portable and relaxing. What more can a crafty girl ask for? I have a grand plan for these… once I have about 200 more. In the meantime, I’m hoping this will help get my scrap bins under control, several hundred in and I haven’t even made a dent!

My pillow talk swap cover finished and sent her off to her new home with Jenna. It was a little hard to let this one go, but alas, off it went. Lots more pictures in my flickr stream if you’d fancy a better look. I finished up 6 pillows for our living room, pictures once the weather agrees.

Now that I’m listing what I’ve finished this month, I’m suddenly feeling like I’ve actually gotten things accomplished. Now if someone would only come wash the dishes for me:)

****Stay tuned for my first bloggy giveaway! I’ll be giving out a big pack a of scraps and some fat quarters. An attempt to get my sewing space under control before I start on my next round of commissions 🙂

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in english paper piecing, Fabrics, flickr swaps, hexies, home, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life this week

  1. oh I know you’re Rock It on the Board this next year! Congrats! We had a bunch of fun this year but I can tell you part of me is ready to “pass that baton”. 🙂 wow it looks like youre getting tons done… nice pillow!

Leave a Reply

