I love Fall

Something about the onset of fall spurs me into crazy girl productive mode. Our house is undergoing a thorough cleaning as we prepare for winter and an entire month of various house guests ( I’ve got a feeling I’ll be doing a LOT of cooking this month. Stop by if your hungry:) In crafty news I’ve managed to be very productive as well, gotta love that. Without even realizing it, I’ve been working on finishing up a (alarmingly) huge WIP pile. I just dropped off my Swoon quilt at the long armers, can’t wait to get it back in 3 weeks!!!

Using my extra single girl blocks, I whipped up a baby quilt and a table topper. I wanted to use these as a trial run so I could iron out any problems that might arise before I being handquilting the king size. I backed the mini some more of the AMH Little folks voile. I expected to have some problems with slippage and bunching but was pleasantly surprised to discover it was fairly easy to work with. Spray basting doesn’t seem to want to stick the the voile at all, so I did end up pinning on the obsessive thorough side. Also, if you plan to work with voile in a quilt, I’d recommend investing in some microfine safety pins. The standard size left marks once they were removed and while some gentle rubbing got rid of most of them, next time I’ll only be using the smaller sharp ones.

I found that starting in the middle of the circle arches section (NOT starting in the center of the circles) and quilting clockwise, stop. Turn and pick a segment counterclockwise quilt, repeat was the best way to avoid any weird bunching issues. If you’re just quilting one block though, starting in the center and quilting outward seems to be fine.


I’m loving hand work lately, for some reason its all I want to do right now. I’ve finished up two of my four blocks for the Embroider Bee. So far I’ve got a tree sprite and halloweenie ghost finished. I’m working on a new version of this embroidery I did a few months ago for my last block. I’m thinking dark rich pinks, purples and chocolate tones

How’s your fall going? I hope its full of cider,crispy leaves and fragrant air. Such a wonderful season I’m crossing things off my crafty to do list like crazy back with more soon!!

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in embroidery, patchwork, Quilting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I love Fall

  1. Laura says:

    I saw your mermaid embroidery on pinterest and was wondering what you used to colour it in? Great blog!

  2. Amber says:

    Wow that embroidery is so amazing. I came to your site to try and find your email address, is it on here? Email me back if you get this, just wanted to double check about Friday, we’re looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

