Swooning for Swoon

I’d been eyeing up the Swoon pattern for awhile,it’s pretty swell. But then I saw these gorgeous blocks by Angela of Fussy Cut fame. Well, that clinched it. I bought the pattern and immediately started pulling fabrics to assemble the blocks. I started cutting the next day and I even got to use my Accuquilt cutter for some of the more tedious cutting. This really helped expedite the process of cutting some 250 little squares of fabric  (not my favorite part). I decided to add an extra row of three blocks to make this big enough to cover the back of our largest couch. Which is incredibly comfy, but the upholstery… eh. Wouldn’t have been my first choice. But it was cheap and it is very, very comfortable. So until the day we’ve got a few g’s to spend on some reupholstery, covering it with super bright beautiful quilts seems like a no brainer.
Above are the first nine blocks. I forgot to take pictures of the last two before I pieced the top together but oh well! Its all folded up right now, getting ready to go to the long armer!!! I’m so happy with the final product that I’ve decided this quilt needs some extra awesome quilting to take it to the next level. I’ve never sent one of my quilts out, but I know it will be ok in the crazy talented hands of Nancy Stovall of Just Quilting.

Thoughts on the Swoon Pattern:

This pattern is awesome! The blocks come together fairly simply, though are somewhat time consuming. The size of the blocks shows off larger prints really nicely, as they finish between 22″-24 inches. Well mine did, not matter how hard I tried some of my seams ended up a bit too big. I think that you need to use a very scant 1/4″ seam otherwise there isn’t much room for error in terms of getting all your finished seams to match up. The cutting was definitely the most time consuming part, do it all at once!Keep the piles neat and organized.This would be a great pattern for a beginner,so go ahead, give it a try!!

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swooning for Swoon

  1. Pétra says:

    I’ve been wanting to try this quilt!! Can’t wait to see it in person at a Guild meeting.

    • Alexandra says:

      Its a really fun quilt and easy (though a little time consuming) I’d love to see your version! I’ll bring it to the November meeting, I should have it back from the long armer (Nancy Stovall) by then!!!

Leave a Reply

