Pinwheels & Postage Stamps

I’ve been meaning to make my mom something ever since I picked up quilting. She has always been a wonderful supporter of my art and I’ve been searching for just the right fabrics and patterns to make her something special. I thought I’d settled on them a while back. Them being the Dream On collection by Moda- a delightfully modernized collection of vintage sheet prints. I started cutting and sewing but somehow nothing came together like the image in my head and I was really frustrated.

I recently reorganzied my entire sewing room to make room for a new sewing machine   (that gets its own  post!!) and to make better working use of the space available to me.  I reorganized all of my fabric and in doing so, came across my sizable stash of Anna Maria Horner’s Folksy Flannels. Somehow, those pretties never quite made it back to the shelf. I had enough to make two quilt tops, one for me and one for my mom. Something to make us feel a little brighter and closer together while there are 3,100 miles between us.

This is the first top, it is also getting rows of light linen sashing on each side. I’m not sure how I want to quilt this yet. I plan on doing a few rows of running stitches by hand in the linen sashing. This is going to be the first thing I quilt on the Bernina 440QE (yep! thats what I got and I LOVE it). I’m excited to make the BSR earn its price tag. Any ideas on quilting style? I’d love your thoughts because I’m a bit stumped on how to finish it.

I’m going to try to work these leftovers into the backs somehow, or maybe just make some pillow shams?There are definitely too many to not do something with them. I guess it’ll all depend on how motivated I feel during tonights late night sewing session:)

Back tomorrow with more projects to share, I’ve been working non stop and I’ve got a huge stack of finished stuff to show!

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in home, patchwork, Quilting, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pinwheels & Postage Stamps

  1. Love love love her clothes and accessories. The sales people seemed to be super friendly and look fantastic wearing KM’s clothes. Thankfully there is a store in Boston!

    Here

  2. Great post thanks for sharing. You have a great layout here. Quilting is something I really enjoy doing. It passes the time and is very relaxing.

  3. Michelle says:

    This is awsome Alexandra! I have the exact machine with the BSR and it’s heaven (once you get the hang of it). You’re mommy is gonna love it! Maybe stitch something freemotion and swirly like the wind is blowing around the pinwheels?

  4. Pingback: 1 Oz Golden Sewing Machine

  5. Just Jenn says:

    I’m excited to see how you finish this one up for your Mom. She’ll love it! (Really what’s not to love?)

  6. elsa says:

    I didn’t know you have a blog.
    love the quilt top, it’s wonderfully fresh and bright!
    oh, and congratulations on a bright, shiny and new sewing machine!

  7. Alexandra says:

    This one is for my mom. I had to unpick an entire row of seams so alas it didn’t get photographed today. I’m doing math for the the rest as we speak…err, type? I’m basically thinking of incorporating them in the least complicated way at this point. I’m excited to get to quilting them. I’m thinking of doing the quilting as big round spirals? or maybe something even sketchier like flowers and vines? I’m going all out for mom. Its getting hand stitching too!

  8. Just Jenn says:

    Aw, pinwheels are so whimsical. ^^ And YAY! for the 440QE! I love mine too. Do you have enough of the little “scraps” to make a border? Maybe flying geese or diamonds? Is that one for you or your mom?

Leave a Reply

