April Flowers & New Leaves

I’m already swamped with projects. I have 4 quilts I “owe” people, not to mention the three I’m working on for us. So by all accounts, I shouldn’t start anything new. But I did….oops. This idea has been churning around in my brain for the past few days, finally this afternoon I caved, pulled this stack of fabric and started cutting. They will be paired with a really lovely light colored linen and some really fun funky reverse applique. I’m pretty excited to share this one once I get a little further along. This was born out of my desire for summer and my feeble attempts to make the dark gray skies of late a little brighter! Did I mention I joined two new swaps and a new quilt bee?? OOPS!

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of sewing with my fellow Portland Modern Quilt Guild ladies for a blissful 8 hours. Big thanks to my amazing husband for taking a day off, watching the baby and having my favorites from Screen Door waiting for me when I got home for dinner. I spent most of the time chatting with Jen of Quiddity Quilts, Kristen of Kmac Quilts and Brittany (I don’t think she blogs) and a few others. Thanks ladies for the delightful chatter, grownup conversation is amazing! I can’t wait til the next sew-in!!

That was the longest I’ve been away from the baby in a year! It also made it clear to me, that I need to allow myself more adult time. Its been hard being away from our families this first year, no anytime all the time free babysitter (aka her grandparents). Not that we don’t have awesome supportive friends willing to shower the baby with love for a few hours, but I can’t in good conscience leave her knowing how bad the separation anxiety is (was). We seem to finally be getting over that. Her cognitive development is running 4-7 months ahead of her age… while that is excellent news it also means that we’ve jumped back to back into some really high maintenance phases. I’m optimistic though, it’ll be great once the weather lets up some and we can spend more time outside. What about you, are you ready for this (seemingly) eternal winter to be moving on?

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in Fabrics, flickr swaps, motherhood, patchwork, Quilting, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April Flowers & New Leaves

  1. Alexandra says:

    Oh man, I am so there on the Bee. What can I say? I work best under pressure:) I’m hoping that very soon she’ll figure the whole separation thing. She cries when I walk into the bathroom, it can be so heartbreaking sometimes…. not to mention frustrating! But for every difficult moment, there are more joyful ones. This next year couldn’t be anymore extreme than the first year so for now, thats what I’m telling myself!

  2. Chris Clark says:

    I was going to ask if you wanted to join the lovely linen bee on flickr (I’m the Mama) as we’re short a person or two in our second group, but maybe I shouldn’t. 🙂
    I’ve read that around 18 months babies learn that Mommy comes back. Before that they think if you’re gone, that’s it, you’re completely gone. So, maybe once she figures that out it will help. We have no family nearby to watch our little one. I get excited when I can go to the grocery store by myself…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

