Neither night,nor sleep

I have a bunch of other things that I should be working on. But I just want to stitch on this. The suction cups were pretty slow going at first ( that’s a lot of satin stitching!!) But I’ve got nearly all the big ones finished, the smaller ones are much easier with less floss and a teeny tiny needle. This isn’t even close to halfway done, but I thought I’d share my progress so far!! 

Satin stitch closeup. If your interested in embroidery, I highly recommend that you check out this website Rocksea and Sarah. It is an amazingly detailed free reference and one that has helped me immensely (as I’m a self taught). You can grab this free pattern here Corvus Tristis.

This reminds me of a passage from a favorite Neruda poem (Night on the Island)

“Ni la noche, ni el sueño
pudieron separarnos.
He dormido contigo
y al despertar, tu boca,
salida de tu sueño,
me dio el sabor de tierra,
de agua marina, de algas,
del fondo de tu vida,
y recibí tu beso
mojado por la aurora
como si me llegara
del mar que nos rodea.”

 

“Neither night nor sleep
could separate us.
I have slept with you
and on waking, your mouth,
come from your dream,
gave me the taste of earth,
of sea water, of seaweed,
of the depths of your life,
and I received your kiss
moistened by the dawn
as if it came to me
from the sea that surrounds us.”

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in embroidery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Neither night,nor sleep

  1. Corvus says:

    Gorgeous! I love the color combo.

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you so much! I’m a huge fan of your patterns!! I’m really enjoying stitching this one, even if its taking me a bit longer than usual. I’m planning to fill the tentacles with running stitches. Then the entire thing is going to be incorporated into a ocean quilt!

Leave a Reply

