Regrouping

I’m in standing starkly in the middle of my current project. The exact point where you’ve already sunk a good 30 hours of work in, although the proof seems to be missing. It’s that perfect spot where, no matter how fast you work, the finished pile seems to stay the same size, while to-be-done seems to be multiplying every time you blink.  For me I find that this point is critical. Either I push on through sheer stubbornness or the project falls by wayside littering my closets for months, sometimes longer.
My new goal to combat these rouge sewing projects? I’m going to allow myself to step away and work on a 1-3 hour side project. A little something for me, since 95% of the things I create are for other people, I’m going to reward myself in the middle with little pretties. I’ll fearlessly cut into prized fabrics that have been sitting around in my stash instead of worrying that the project won’t be good enough to justify using fabric x. Some of my favorite fabrics sometimes get skipped over just because I don’t want to “waste” them. Meanwhile, I find myself regretting leaving them out of other projects that would have gone from good to great with one or two different fabric pulls. So last night in the midst of tracing even more single girl stuff, I cleared my desk and made myself one of these!
A needle book for my countless embroidery projects! I needed something nice and organized that would also keep said necessary items out of the babies clutches. I used some Flea Market Fancy Orange Seeds and Fancy Posies in Pink. Some Far Far Away 2 and linen binding. The coral colored solid is from an Anna Maria Horner Solid Spectrum bundle. I used a great tutorial that I found over here, Sew She Sews.
I added two additional pages with the intention of keeping all of my hand sewing needles in this case. Maybe I’ll finally be able to find the right needles when I actually need them! I quilted it  in free flowing organic lines and bound it in linen. It makes me feel happy and relaxed all at once.
I just love the Flea Market and FFA2 together. I don’t know why I waited so long to make myself something with these fabrics. The rest of my stash is in very serious danger of some bold cuts very soon!
I walked away reinvigorated just by finishing something. Tomorrow I am turning twenty seven. Willow will be one in twelve days. This birthday actually feels like a significant mark in time instead of an arbitrary birthday attached to some number, some cluster of years.
I’m standing here, shocked that I made it though my first year of staying at home (a huge, difficult change for me. HUGE), that my daughter has grown (6 lbs. 11 oz.) and flourished (20 lbs. 9 oz.). I feel like a phoenix rising from the ashes of my former self. Last year, I finished culinary school (6 months pregnant) with a 4.0 GPA.  I got married, I had a baby. The wild single girl of my former days has been replaced with this girl I’m still getting comfortable with. The complete life adjustment is harder than the physical birthing, though that wasn’t a stroll in the park either.
This year has been a manic ride of highs, lows and (holy shit!!) hormones like whoa. But no matter how desperate and hopeless I felt at times, I’m still here and the fog lifted. I’m excited, I’m looking forward to the developments ahead and the little life that is unfurling as we become a family together. My oldest dearest friend is moving across the country, to start fresh and getting to share my daughter with her is such a gift. I know she’ll cherish her almost as much as I do. Twenty six, thank you for showing me strength I wasn’t aware of. Thanks for forcing me to grow. Twenty seven, I hope you’re more inclined to hang out and sip lemonade all day, otherwise I can’t promise your glass won’t have some whiskey in it.
Things are looking promising.
About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in Fabrics, family, home, motherhood, patchwork, sewing, Single Girl Quilt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Regrouping

  1. Kristen says:

    This will be stunning. I am in love with those voiles and anything AMH makes! Whenever I felt down about what I had to do next on my SG, I forced myself to work on. Kinda of like exercise- you don’t want to do it and then you feel great when you are done. :))

    • Alexandra says:

      Thats very true! Mostly I’m just wishing I hadn’t decided that I needed this quilt in a King size! The hand quilting alone will probably take as long as all the piecing has. Oh, the sacrifices we make for our art:)

  2. sewshesews says:

    This turned out beautifully! I love your daughter’s name as well 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Jaime

Leave a Reply

