Urban Home Goods Swap

I’m pleased to have (finally) finished my wares for my partner in the Urban Home Goods 3 Swap. This might be the most fun I’ve ever had in a swap, certainly one of the most inspiring groups on flickr right now.  Well, Chris received her package from me last week and I was pleasantly surprised to find a package waiting for me on my doorstep this morning! Moda was my first favorite “designer fabric house”. While I’ve since found a few new favorites, there are several Moda collections I just can’t get enough of. Dream On by Urban Chicks is definitely one of them! I love its throwback retro feel, without any fading or weird attic smells that plague most vintage linens. The colors are the best of vintage sheet variety, though (thankfully) lacking in some of the more avocado like hues that were so popular in the 60’s & 70’s.

The table runner is making my whole kitchen/dining area so happy. While I can’t bring myself to use such pretty items in my (hardworking) kitchen, the lovely little trivets have already found a home on my desk in the sewing room. So don’t worry, they’ll get plenty of use in there! I couldn’t get very good pictures of the crafts(woman)ship but the stitching is all perfect and consistent. A lot of skill went into these lovelies, something I appreciate almost as much as the items themselves. I really couldn’t be more thrilled with what Jennifer made me, thanks again for your thoughtful gift!

For my partner, I chose to make a reversible sewing machine cover and a thread-catcher pin cushion. Some new wares to freshen up her sewing area. Using my single girl test block, I  echo quilted the block to anchor it to a layer of batting.  The other side is a patchy combination of linen, some fabrics from the Hope Valley, Farmdale and other favorite lines. I even worked in some repurposed doilies and embroidery. I didn’t follow a pattern, just sorta made it up as I went along. Here are a few photos:

And here is the thread catcher and pincushion combo. I made this using an Oh! Franson tutorial on Sew Mama Sew. Want one to spruce up your sewing space? They’re easy to make!

Thanks again to all the lovely ladies that organized this swap. They are a continual source of fun and inspiration and I can’t wait for round four!

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in Fabrics, flickr swaps, home, patchwork, Quilting, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

