Springing Forward

It gets really hard for me to focus around this time of the year. I’ve already spotted some daffodils, crocus’ , and a few hardy pansies peeking their little faces out. Camilla’s start to explode this time of year and it amazes me the epic heights they reach here, courtesy of the winter rains. As wonderful as spring is here, its nothing compared to spring back home on the farm ( Southern Maryland). I’ve been forever spoilied by this sort of beauty right out our back door.

This season it seems to be especially hard as our little (big!) girl nears her first birthday ( March 25th). I’ve been so emotional, every time I think about it, I find myself getting all misty…wasn’t expecting that. My birthday falls on the 13th and I have no plans beyond a well deserved cocktail and dinner at one of my favorite restaurants. If you’re curious those would be Screen Door, Laurelhurst Market, and Podnah’s. If you live in Portland, you should try all of these places at least once, twice, a hundred times, whatever. This year though, the best present of all? Not being nine months pregnant…aaaandd the shiny, brand new super-awesome Cannon Rebel DSLR Ben bought me!  Now all I need is that Bernina 440QE / 640 and this girl will be in heaven:)

The single girl is still keeping me hopping! I’ve lost some momentum though, probably something to do with the 1,100 pieces ( plus more for borders and the back) of fabric being cut and ironed. I could be wrong though:). I’m only almost halfway through tracing and cutting my background pieces but its just taking me FOREVER. In the mean time I’ve made some nice progress on my octopus embroidery. I’ve still got about 60 little tentacles to satin stitch ( also taking forever but looking soooo cool).

I knew when I started this massive undertaking, that I was going to make it even more work by hand quilting the entire King size quilt. I suppose that means I’m a glutton for punishment?? Its going to take me ages, but after having already put in this much work, whats another 20 or 30 hours….right? I was pretty set on using a white or turquoise Pearle cotton until I found these little beauties over at Fabric Depot. They’re the same weight/size as Pearle, but after comparing them side by side these are much nicer. Made of 100% Egyptian cotton, they are hand dyed and the range of colors was enough to make me giddy.  These are my favorites, I’m thinking of fussy cutting them in a sense and using three or four different types, including a variegated turquoise (currently missing. It’s either in my car or floating around the art room.)

Who knows what I’ll settle on?Which one do you like best? Maybe I’ll chicken out and just use a solid color, I’m waiting for the top and bottom to come together. Imagining the whole thing done is the only thing motivating me to keep going. I’m giving myself a few hours today and tomorrow to repaint and reupholster a little bench we have. A few hours on a side project is usually just to ticket to recharge my motivation! At least thats what I’m counting on…

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in embroidery, home, motherhood, patchwork, Quilting, sewing, Single Girl Quilt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Springing Forward

  1. Alexandra says:

    Happy Birthday to another beautiful girl!! Hope your day is filled with sunshine (and tantrumless!)

  2. sarah says:

    i didn’t know that me and willow have the same birthday!!!! or maybe i did and forgot!

Leave a Reply

