Patchy Paris Valley

I tend to be a little bit of a perfectionist when it comes to the things I make. While this does occasionally lead up to a nicer finished product, it usually means I’m frustrated along the way. Lately, I’m trying not to work that way. I find that if I embrace my mistakes and don’t fret if ever single seam and point match up i enjoy the process more and I learn from the mistakes I made without tearing out my hair. This quilt is a perfect example. I bought a yard of Kokka Trefle fabric. It’s the Eiffel Tower and I think it is simply wonderful, buy it here. Normally, stuff like this gets put in the stash for the the perfect project but I couldn’t bear to just let this sit on the shelf. The day after this came home, it was on the table getting a top. I wanted to make something quick and patchy but not too intricate, I wanted the back to really steal the show.

I made some quick pieced strips of diamonds and added in some big bold strips of Hope Valley ( which is a perfect match, you’d think they were made together) and strip of Kona Cotton in Crocus. For the longest time I wasn’t that into Hope valley or Flea Market Fancy, having seen a both in person, I am now realizing the error of my ways and falling madly in love with both lines. I just wish Flea Market Fancy was still in print, its so pricey to buy it now!

Despite its wonky imperfections and a few places where the seams are off, I just love this. I some how managed to make two strips into zig zags rather than diamonds, but the placement is of these mistakes lends an odd symmetry to the top. See? I’m embracing imperfections already! I decided to go for a subtle linen binding that is soft and lovely without taking attention away from the prints and tying the whole thing together. I used two layers of batting and yet again, hand sewing the binding on was rather brutal on my thumb. I even broke out some thimbles, but I find most of the time they hinder me more than they help. Someday I’ll find the perfect thimble to fit my fingers and it’ll be bye bye finger bruises!

For my next projects I’ll be finishing up some goodies for my Urban home goods partner ( can’t wait to share pictures, I almost want to keep it for me!) and cutting out over 900  pieces of fabric for my single girl! I’m working on two commissioned quilts right now, too. It’s going to be a busy spring!

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in Fabrics, patchwork, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

