Pieces of a puzzle

Do you ever wake up at 3 am with a lightening bolt idea? An idea so wonderful you have to get up and put it down on paper because otherwise you might loose it forever? I had one of those the other day. Ever since then I can barely sleep as I work out the specifics turning an idea into a quilt. I don’t want to give too much away at this point as I work it all out, but here a few pictures of  pieces that will be combined in my most ambitious sewing project yet!

The mermaid circle is embroidery on canvas cloth, with crayon tinting.  I bought the pattern here Little Dear. Aimee Ray is an amazingly talented artist, you should check out her shop and blog.  To get this effect, I printed the image out onto laser photo transfer paper ( with an inkjet printer oops, I bought the wrong type but decided to try them out anyhow.) Then using crayola crayons I colored directly onto the print out, being careful not to smudge the lines. I ironed it to my canvas following the transfer sheet directions.

Here’s another piece I’m still working on, another embroidery. This is also a free pattern that you can find here Corvus Tristis. I’m stalling a little right now, I’m torn on a few color options and whether or not to satin stich all of those suckers, its a huge undertaking! Here are the rest of the pieces of the puzzle,

The smaller pieces of fabric are from the Kona cotton Posiden bundle. Additional Kona yardage underneath and some Kona Coal.

And finally one of my favorite bits of the puzzle, some wonderful bits I’ve been hoarding collecting from the Heather Ross Mendocino line. I have two more prints from this line somewhere in my stack of fabric, somewhere…                                               This collection is out of print now, but you can still find some of these beauties online (etsy, ebay, and some quilting sites). So what do you think? Any guesses what this is destined to be??

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in crayon tinting, embroidery, Fabrics, patchwork, Quilting, sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pieces of a puzzle

  1. Corvus says:

    I can’t wait to see what you do with the tentacles!

  2. melissa says:

    i don’t know, but this is so beautiful. mermaids live in my soul.

  3. Love that fabric! I see the puzzle coming together.. can’t wait to see the quilt!

Leave a comment