Ticker Tape Quilt

Seeing as how I’m only sleeping about four hours a night now that my insomnia seems to have reared its nasty little head, I’ve been using my extra hours of consciousness sewing. It beats laying in bed, tossing and turning! I’m not sure what it is, but lately I’ve been so artistically inspired as the fog or pregnancy/post partum/ nursing clears. I’m actually really starting to feel like myself again. Its heavenly to finally be getting closer to my new “normal”

Since I need something to keep me busy, I’ve been sewing and crafting up a storm. I’ve finished 4 quilts in 2 months and I have a queen size and another crib sized waiting in line to be quilted! This is my first ticker tape quilt, its a sort of improve quilt that has so much possibility. I’ve been wanting to try this for ages ever since I saw a tutorial over here on Sew Mama Sew.

I’m making this quilt for Willow to use as a sort of play mat in our living room. Our apartment has beautiful hardwood floors that are less than ideal for a rough and tumble little monkey…err baby. I used three layers of batting to give this a little more heft. Because this will be getting some rough use, I decided to reinforce most of the scraps with Heat-n- Bond sewable fusing.  The patches will still fray, but it’ll take a little longer and hopefully it will help this hold up well under teeny tiny foot traffic.


I’ve become enamored the past few months with the online quilting community over on Flickr. There is a mind boggling amount of inspiration in tons of groups dedicated to Modern Fibers and the Modern Quilt Movement. I’ve had the pleasure of getting involved with some really fun swaps. Most recently, I participated in the QAYG (Quilt As You Go) Round two and the Scrappy Strip Swap.Both organized by the lovely Heather of {A la mode}.She puts so much thought into her swaps and I’ve had so much fun participating. Not to mention she’s creative and an amazing quilter. Check her out here.

I received a mouthwatering bundle from Marmys, my partner in the Scrappy Strip Swap. Go check out her photostream!

I used some of almost every single bit she sent me, though some of the flea market fancy I’m saving for a “me” project! I added in some fabrics from my scrap basket and this was the result!  I tend to be slightly OCD so its hard for me to work in a truly “random” fashion. One advantage to using the heat–bond, is it allows you to do the entire layout of the quilt in one sitting, Instead of trying to find the pieces of the puzzle as I went along, I simply laid out my top fabric on my ironing board and worked my way up in rows, ironing the pieces in place as I went. While this does add some stiffness to the fabric, it also gives it some nice texture that I think the baby will like. She loves running her little hands over the other quilts, so cute!

 

You can really see where I had issues with bunching, but I'm still loving the way its shaping up!

Troubleshooting:

I did hit a few snags on my way with this one. Because the heat-n-bond makes the fabric stiff, the only foot that would work was the walking foot on my machine. Not  terrible, but I had a different vision for the quilting style before I realized that my quilting foot wouldn’t work with the reinforced fabrics. Also, I wasn’t really thinking when I started sewing the layers together and I started in the bottom right corner  sewing towards the left hand side. This quilt is very colorful and distracting, so I noticed that I was sewing the patches in really random order that resulted in a lot of bunching in a few areas. I’m trying not to beat myself up about it.I’m trying to not get so hung up on imperfections in my quilting and art and to embrace the lessons they teachme. Easier said than done when your head is full of OCD tendencies:) And I have a few ideas for the next Ticker Tape Quilts I’ve got ready to go once I finish this one. One is going to be a very modern nautical inspired quilt. I can’t wait to start on that one, because that one is just for me!! As always, feel free to check out my flickr stream for more crafty photos!

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in Quilting, sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

