Ten Months and counting

I was just going to have a nice dvd for lunch, care to join me?

 

Well, almost. Only four days to go until this big girl turns ten months old!

It seems so hard to believe that we actually made it to this point. Somedays I feel like it was just yesterday that I was on my way to the hospital.Other times, I feel like she’s been a part of our lives forever, and its hard to remember a time when she was not.

As of her most recent check up Willow weighs 21.5 lbs. (83%) and she is 28.5″ long (66%).  Her cognitive development continues to be several months ahead, and everyday she continues to amaze me as she blooms into a little girl right before my eyes. I’ve heard from so many people that the first year is the hardest and I don’t doubt it at all. The first few months were so grueling, emotionally and physically. As we approach the one year mark, I’m amazed by how much I enjoy (nearly) every moment of her company. This age is so fun, we spend hours just giggling and playing. Its such a huge difference from the helpless (mostly) stationary baby I loved six months ago, and everyday I see the parts of Ben and I that are mixed up in her personality come out  in joyful ways I never could have imagined.

Willow has been crawling for almost two months at this point and she is alarmingly quick . Ninja-like really, especially when it comes to any situation that could potentially end in bodily harm or any number of items being smashed. I never realized just how fragile some most of my things were until they were being tested by the vice grip of a infant. She can stand for several seconds without holding on to anything and she uses any and everything in her path as a cruising crutch. We think she’ll be walking within the next month. She says Mama, Dada and Baba (for bottle). She has a word for kitty (sounds like ickyyyyy) that she squeals when she gets close to the cats. She adores them and most of her efforts to crawl and walk are in pursuit of the “ickies”. She’s grabbed them and pulled tails a few times, but amazingly the cats have been gentle and obliging, much to my relief.

While she does have a noticeable independent streak (feeding herself, standing up on her own or cruising and playing),  Separation anxiety has become a huge issue in the past couple of weeks. If I put her down she cries, crawls after me and clutches onto my legs like a terrified little monkey. So I pick her up, which is cool for about 5 minutes and then she struggles to escape. At this point the entire cycle repeats itself. And then again and again…and again.  She cries when she’s with her Dad and I walk out of the room. She cries when Ben leaves the room. Its hard not to get frustrated when I’m home alone with her for ten hours a day, but its slowly getting better.

She’s shaping up to be quite the gourmand! She loves fresh fruit and roasted vegetables. She loves vegetable chili, salsa, belgian waffles,our family spaghetti and my Spanish rice! Avocados and fennel are the only green vegetables she’ll eat right now,until she can chew, then its on! Several people I’ve mentioned this to have expressed surprise that a baby would eat some of these foods. The subject of babies,nutrition and culinary experience  is of special interest to me and I’ll be dedicating an entire post to the subject later this week.Speaking of chewing, somebody finally has two teeth! Her bottom central incisors finally came in, and its so cute seeing the two little buds in her little gummy smile. More are following shortly, we suspect. I will miss her toothless grin but the little teeth are making me so happy:)

I still miss working a lot. The bustle of a kitchen and the exhilaration I get from extreme cooking situations. But I spend most of my days with this adoring face, and it turns out this whole Motherhood thing is completely, totally, insanely wonderful.

Here’s to our next six months together, my sweet little girl!

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in family, home, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

