Harvest time


Well hey there! Its so good to see you. You must forgive my absence these past few weeks, there’s been lots going on. As summer dwindles down we’ve been trying to make the most of these last days of sun and dry skies.  We’ve spent time with friends, grilled, there’s been crafting, sewing, painting, and a few birthday parties. I’ve been baking and working on perfecting some recipes that I’m really excited to share here soon. We’ve even managed to squeeze in a concert, our first since the baby was born! We went and saw Pavement as part of the Edgefield Summer Lawn Concert series. We were a little hesitant but we took Willow and she amazed us! She loved the lights, music and people watching, though she wasn’t as crazy about her noise canceling headphones.

As we draw ever closer to the six month mark, we’re simply amazed at how our little girl has blossomed almost overnight from a helpless baby to a little person.She begins everyday smiling and the sound of her laughter rings out through our tiny apartment like music. She is such a joy to discover, the likes of which never ceases to amaze and humble me. So perhaps you can understand why I’ve been a bit scarce.

It wasn’t much of a summer this year in Portland. It was rainy and chilly most all of June and July wasn’t much better. Suffice it to say, I gave up on having a proper summer quite a while ago and now, I couldn’t be more ready for fall. I’m dreaming of crunchy leaves, mugs of hot cider and cocoa, hoodies and cool crisp fall breezes. I’m excited to carve pumpkins,read books by a crackling fire and peruse the late season harvests at the Farmers Markets.  I’ll be back soon with some really fun stuff to share but for now, here’s a little sneak peak at what’s been keeping me busy…

I finally started slipcovers for the throw pillows on our couch and armchair set

My all time favorite brownies, adapted from Martha made exciting by yours truly

A prototype for the hundred of yards of bunting we're making for Katie and Charlie's wedding

And then of course we have this "minor" distraction 🙂

How are you keeping busy?

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in baking, cooking, embroidery, family, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harvest time

  1. Alexandra says:

    We (but mostly me) heart you too! I’m so excited for your wedding!

  2. Katie says:

    I heart your words, and you, and your family!

Leave a Reply

