Hex Crazed

Anyone that knows me well can tell you that I tend to get really obsessed when I discover a new craft. I will turn down invitations to exciting parties when there is a craft waiting at home in my little studio or the labooorratory (evil british scientist inflection optional) as Ben and I call it! I taught myself to sew last summer in the little off time I had while attending culinary school. I didn’t have enough time to get a job and maintain my 4.0 GPA ( yeah, I’m pretty proud of that, it took some dedication), so what did I do? I took up quilting, because I am a crazy old lady in a twenty-somethings body. Then I found out I was having a baby, and so I felt like I needed to learn to sew because, well, moms should sew.

There are so many amazing quilting blogs that its pretty hard not to be inspired to pick up some fabric and get sewing. Then I discovered fabric depot, not five miles from my house. My poor Ben, it was all downhill from there. To say that I am fabric crazed would be a bit of an understatement. I’m starting to run out of places to squirrel my stash! My latest obsession is english paper piecing, or making hexagons/ hexies. These really are the perfect craft to occupy my hands while Willow naps on me. Once you get the fabric cut, they come together very quickly. I can put them down and pick them back up, no problem. That has become very important as Willow reaches four months in a few days and requires a lot more attention in her waking hours.  There are several methods to making these I found the tutorial here to be the best   http://www.sunshinescreations.vintagethreads.com/2007/03/tutorial-on-english-paper-piecing.html

I have decided to make at least one hexie from every different fabric that I have (possibly excluding some charm packs and knits) Here is a small peek at some of the ones I’ve finished so far. I am so excited to see all of them together. But for now, I’ll leave you with these…



About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in english paper piecing, hexagon, hexies, Quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hex Crazed

  1. Amber H says:

    Hey, just wanted to thank you again for the holder and hexagons! I went and blogged about them… teehee.

  2. sarah says:

    dude. do you have an etsy shop?? bc if you dont thats a CRIME. http://www.etsy.com.

    • Alexandra says:

      I have one in the works. And I’ve made a whole bunch of different sorts of things, onsies, burp rags, quilts and blankets and some paper sculptures, I just need to get around to photographing it. Now that Willow is on a more consistent sleeping routine, I plan to steal a few moments to get a move on it! But, uh, yeah thanks:) Most all of it is borne out of the inability to sit still.

Leave a Reply

