Fiber Arts

I am obsessed. Seriously obsessed. I’ve always loved art and crafting.  My mother always found the most interesting art classes for me to take as a child. I spent more time at Maryland Hall (for the creative arts) than most teens spend at the mall. I was lucky to have a parent so supportive  of my creative side.She always bought me the supplies I needed for my ever growing list of hobbies (easels, palates, paints, sculpting tools, etc.) I appreciate this so much more now that I have to buy my supplies myself, because they really seem to add up quickly! The fiber arts always alluded me as a kid. Both my mom and Grandma (on my Dad’s side) are both amazingly talented. Between the two of them, they exposed me to sewing, knitting, crocheting, embroidery, and furniture upholstery, among other things.

Sewing always seemed so fiddly and tedious to me as a kid. Like most children, patience was not my strong suit (still isn’t), so the thought of pinning seams, ironing and washing wasn’t that appealing as a means of creative fun.I so regret not learning from them when I lived there. Thank God for the internet and google searches! I’ve managed to find some excellent resources online as well as at our local Multnomah County Library ( The library here is simply amazing) and I’ve made some leaps and bounds as far not sewing my fingers together and even getting some awesome embroidery projects finished.  Embroidery is incredibly relaxing. Its like drawing with a needle and thread rather than a paper and pen. Sometimes when I feel down, simply looking at my rainbow of embroidery floss is enough to brighten my entire day. I mastered a few stitches and found some inspiration on various blogs around the Internet. One of my favorite embroiderer  (and bloggers in general) inspirations is Carina of Carina’s Craftblog (http://carinascraftblog.wardi.dk/). I’ve stitched several of her patterns. She also has a two wonderful e-books on embroidery if you’re thinking of giving it a go. I’ve started making a few of my own patterns now that I’ve learned a several dozen stitches. These are a few of my favorites from other peoples patterns so far :

Part of a wonderful collection of embroidery patterns

These are a few of my own creations, mostly made for my little Willow bug

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in embroidery, Quilting, sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fiber Arts

  1. Valerie says:

    These are so beautiful!

  2. Katie says:

    These make me SO happy, and so does this blog now that I think about it!

Leave a Reply

