Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Bars

photo credit to Katez0r

There are a few desserts that I am nearly always in the mood for. Chocolate Chip Cookies, Cheesecake, Apple pie and seasonal fruit galettes.  But what if I decided to combine two of my favorite desserts, what then? I’ll tell you what happens, you get these little bits of heaven! I used my go to chocolate chip cookie dough with an altered cheesecake filling and the result was absolutely sublime!

*****I just realized that I’ve never shared a single recipe here. That makes me feel a bit weird.  Cooking was my entire (well nearly) life for so long that I was a bit heartbroken when I made the decision to stay at home with Willow until she goes to kindergarden. Now 2 years out of the kitchen I find myself wanting to talk and share more, now that the pangs have faded.

Cheesecake filling
12 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 C. Sugar
1 egg + 1 yolk
1/2 t Vanilla paste or 1 1/2 t. vanilla extract
pinch of salt

Cream together cream cheese and sugar and salt. Add egg and vanilla paste and very very thoroughly until it there are no lumps and it has a smooth,satiny texture, about 2-3 minuets.

Chocolate Chip Cookie dough
6 oz. butter, softened
4.5 oz Sugar
4.5 oz Brown sugar
1/4 t.Kosher Salt
2 Eggs, Room temp
1/4 t. Baking Soda
10 oz. Pastry Flour, sifted if you’re motivated :)
10 oz. Chocolate Chips,I’ve been using Guittard 60% bittersweet. They’re flatter and incorporate into batter  well without having to over mix
4 oz. Nuts (optional but I really like hazelnuts!)

In a mixer cream together butter, sugars and salt. Make sure to scrap the sides & especially the bottom. Make sure the butter is evenly distributed. Add in eggs one at a time until throughly mixed. Add in flour and baking soda, mix thoroughly.  Add in the chips and mix lightly to distribute. It’s best to give the dough a few hours in the fridge to hydrate the flours, and allow the butter to resolidify. This will give you a puffier, rounded cookie.

To prepare the bars: Preheat oven to 350. In a lightly greased 9X9 pan, arrange the cookie dough in a even flat layer about 3/4 of an inch thick. Press it gently around the corners and to close any gaps in the dough. Carefully pour in the cheesecake batter and spread evenly. Use any leftover dough and dot the surface of the bars. Bake for about 30 mins. At this point check for doneness. You should be able to jiggle the pan and have it stay fairly firm. The top of the cheesecake batter always browns, so don’t assume they’re finished when that happens! I usually end up baking these about 35-45 mins, depending on how thick the bottom layer of cookie is. Allow to cool 15-20 minuets (if you can wait) and then try to exercise some restraint so you don’t eat the whole pan. I should also note that I almost always make a double batch. They don’t seem to make it till the next day otherwise! Let me know if you try them out!

Pictures by my dear, fabulous Katie.

About Alexandra

Mother. Chef. Artist. I live in beautiful Portland, Oregon with my husband, Ben and our daughter, Willow. This is an account of our rambling adventures and a place for what's inspiring me right now.
This entry was posted in baking, cooking, home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Bars

  1. Katie says:

    God, I want that. Also, if anyone out there happens to make these and theirs don’t come out quite like the picture, it’s because I do a different recipe than Ale, but the sentiment, and deliciousness is completely, completely the same.

  2. Mei says:

    wow that looks good! saving this recipe for later… :)

Leave a Reply

